History of Kappa Sigma's Mu-Gamma Chapter

Colonized: February 17, 1980

Chartered: May 8, 1982

Founding Fathers:

Craig Bose, Mike Canterbury, Patrick Choi, Tom Cibula, Paul Cook, Todd Cunningham, Richard Daly, Maynard Ewton, Greg Eslinger, Brian Foster, Brandon Gaines, Don Harden, Russel Harris, David Heligman, Ricky King, Brian Kuper, Maxfield Mckenzie, Tracy Powers, Bill Scott, Kyle Spencer, John Spicer, Guy Sullaway, Will Symonds, and Jeff Urban.                      

In 1878, Kappa Sigma’s most heralded Brother, Stephen Alonso Jackson, charged the Order:

May we not rest contentedly until the Star & Crescent is the pride of every college and university in the land.
— Stephen Alonzo Jackson

          Over a century later, our Founding Fathers accepted Jackson’s challenge by introducing the principles and traditions of Kappa Sigma to Texas A&M University. Kappa Sigma was one of the earliest Fraternities established at Texas A&M, preceded only by Sigma Phi Epsilon, Sigma Chi, Kappa Alpha Order, Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI), and Pi Kappa Phi.

          After two years of diligently committing themselves to the Order, our founding members recruited a sufficient number of model students that shared the ideals of our Fraternity and were granted an official Charter. As a result of their dedication, the Mu-Gamma Chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity was born on May 8, 1982.

          Over 35 years later, Mu Gamma continues to have a strong presence at Texas A&M. Our mission is no secret—we aspire to create better men by striving for excellence in all that we pursue.